Noteworthy News

Noteworthy News

February 2016

Honors and Awards

Student wins Scholar-in-Training award

Suzann Duan, GSII, recently received the highly competitive American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation Scholar-in-Training Award. She was awarded based on her investigations for work on negative breast cancer research. Duan was awarded $1500 to be used for travel expenses to present her research at the AACR Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA in April.

Alpha Omega Alpha calling for leadership award nominees

The Alpha Omega Alpha Society is requesting nominations for its Fellow in Leadership Award. The award recognizes and supports the further development of outstanding leaders exemplifying the qualities of leading from within, professional values, servant leadership, among other criteria. Mid-career physicians who provide outstanding leadership within organizations in medicine and healthcare are eligible. Award recipients will receive $25,000 to be used for further development as leaders. Applications must be submitted by April 1, 2016. For more on the requirements and how to apply, please visit the Alpha Omega Alpha society.

Publications and Presentations

Erin Grinshteyn, Ph.D., assistant professor, University of Nevada, Reno, School of Community Health Sciences, published "Violent Death Rates: The United States Compared to Other High-Income OECD Countries, 2010" in The American Journal of Medicine, Volume 129, Issue 3, March 2016, Pages 266-273. Due to its high-profile topic, this article gained significant media attention and was republished in several local and national media outlets.

Subhash Verma, Ph.D., associate professor of microbiology and immunology, was published in the Nucleic Acid Research journal from Oxford University Press. Verma was the principal investigator on a study of Kaposi's sarcoma Associated Herpesvirus, a human herpesvirus which establishes lifelong latent infection in the infected hosts. Verma was assisted by Praninkumar Purushothaman, Ph.D., a post-doc working in his lab and Christopher Loosbroock, Ph.D., of the cell and molecular biology program at UNR. This team collaborated with colleagues from Albert Einstein College of Medicine and the University of Pennsylvania for this study.

Faculty and Staff

Ruchala named to Northern Nevada Medical Center Board

Patsy RuchalaPatsy Ruchala

Patsy Ruchala, DNSC, RN, school director and professor at the Orvis School of Nursing, recently joined the Northern Nevada Medical Center Board of Governors. Ruchala will help oversee and enhance an organizational culture focused highly on quality care, patient satisfaction and a positive work environment.

Practice plan employees recognized for years of service

The following practice plan employees are being recognized for their longevity in the first quarter of 2016:

  • Robyn Cass, Staff Accountant, UNSOM-Reno — 20 years
  • Lori Walton, Case Manager, Mojave Adult, Child and Family Services-Las Vegas — 15 years
  • Sharon Stephens, Patient Account Rep, UNSOM-Las Vegas — 10 years
  • Tanya Williams, Medical Assistant, Surgery-Las Vegas — 10 years
  • Joleen Hunter, Case Manager, Mojave Adult, Child and Family Services-Las Vegas — 10 years
  • Terri Armerding, RN, Mojave Adult, Child and Family Services-Reno — 5 years
  • Veronica Patterson, Compliance Coding Auditor, Office of Compliance and Quality Improvement-Reno — 5 years
  • Gehri Grimaud, Senior Network Administrator, UNSOM-Reno — 5 years
  • Jennie Parker, Operations Specialist-Administration, UNSOM-Reno — 5 years
  • Cheryl Jeffery, Front Office Specialist, Family Medicine Center-Reno — 5 years
  • Jayna Litz, Supervisor, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences-Reno — 5 years
  • La Tanya McNair Compliance Coding Auditor, Office of Compliance and Quality Improvement-Las Vegas — 5 years
  • Reina Moreno, Medical Assistant, Surgery-Las Vegas — 5 years

Shapiro valued as member of Allied/Public Health Commission

Daniel S Shapiro, M.D., professor of internal medicine-Reno, has been reappointed to the Washoe County Medical Society Allied/Public Health Commission. In addition, he serves on the Nevada State Medical Association Commission on Public Health. With respect to his work in public health. Shapiro has been an invited speaker at the Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise Biologics Working Group under the auspices of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response, Department of Health and Human Services.

He has served on the Infectious Diseases Society of America Bioemergencies Task Force; was a member of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Blue Ribbon Panel on Laboratory-Acquired Infections. Shapiro served as an advisor to the Subcommittee on Protection of Laboratory Workers from Occupationally Acquired Infections for the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute and is past editor and, subsequently, associate editor of the Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases (ProMED-mail), which has more than 50,000 subscribers in more than 150 countries.

Fildes named Chair of Surgery

John FildesJohn Fildes

John, J. Fildes, M.D., FACS, has been named chair of the Department of Surgery in Las Vegas. Fildes has been with the department for 20 years and has served as vice chair for the last 14 years. He also serves as chief of the Division of Acute Care Surgery. Upon accepting the new position, Fildes said his long-term plan is to complete a community needs assessment for surgery to identify and fill the gaps that currently exist in southern Nevada.

Medical student presents project at Academic Surgical Congress

Kaela Moldowan gives presentationUniversity of Nevada School of Medicine Student, Kaela Moldowan, MSII, presents at the Academic Surgical Congress earlier this month.

Kaela Moldowan, MSII, presented her summer research project earlier this month at the Academic Surgical Congress in Jacksonville, FL. Her presentation, "Scooter and Moped Crash Injuries: Time Matters," identified that scooter and moped crashes that occur at night resulted in more severe injuries.

Copyright © 2016 Health Sciences.