Noteworthy News

Noteworthy News

May 2016

Honors and Awards

Dagda wins pharmacology grant

Ruben K. Dagda, Ph.D., was awarded more than twenty thousand dollars from AVPR Research Enhancement Grant to fund the regulation of Dendrite Homeostasis by PINK1 and PKA in Models of Parkinson's Disease.

School of Medicine Las Vegas physicians receive Top Doctors award

Congratulations to the following School of Medicine physicians who were recognized in the 2016 Top Doctors issue of VegasInc Magazine: Lisa Durette, M.D., Child psychiatry; Eric Farbman, M.D., Neurology; T.J. O-Lee, M.D., Pediatric otolaryngology; Hidenobu Shigemitsu, M.D., Pulmonary and critical care medicine; Faisal Suba, M.D., Psychiatry; and Robert Wang, M.D., Ear, nose and throat surgery.

School of Medicine physicians also were recognized in VegasSeven's Top Doctors edition. Congratulations to these outstanding School of Medicine physicians: Mary Beth Hogan, M.D., Allergy and immunology; Colleen A. Morris, M.D., Clinical genetics; Ovunc Bardakcioglu, M.D., Colon and rectal surgery; Mario J. Gaspar de Alba, M.D., Developmental-behavioral pediatrics; Sandhya Wahi Gururaj, M.D. and John A. Varras, M.D., Internal medicine; David Ginsburg, M.D. and Eric Farbman, M.D., Neurology; Vani Dandolu, M.D., Obstetrics and gynecology; Paul Johnson IV, M.D.; Robert C. Wang, M.D. and Matthew Ng, M.D., Otolaryngology; Alexandra Aguilar, M.D., Pediatric endocrinology; David Di John, M.D. and Echezona E. Ezeanolue, M.D. Pediatric infectious disease; Tsung Ju O-Lee, M.D., Pediatric otolaryngology; David P. Parks, M.D., Pediatric pulmonology; Michael Scheidler, M.D., Pediatric surgery; Beverly Neyland, M.D. and Renu Jain, M.D., Pediatrics; Kayvan T. Khiabani, M.D. and John M. Menezes, M.D., Plastic surgery; Alison Netski, M.D., Psychiatry; Hidenobu Shigemitsu, M.D., Pulmonary disease; Ewa Olech, M.D., Rheumatology; Annabel Barber, M.D.; Daniel Kirgan, M.D. and Deborah Kuhls, M.D., Surgery.

Publications and Presentations

Nicole Jacobs, Ph.D. and Melissa Piasecki, M.D. are among the editors of a newly revised edition of that popular textbook, Problem-based Behavioral Science and Psychiatry. Many University of Nevada School of Medicine faculty members and students also contributed to this volume. Problem-based learning is a widely utilized approach to learning that involves the detailed study of patient cases with the goal of identifying topics for self-study relevant to cases.

Daniel S. Shapiro, M.D., professor of internal medicine in Reno, was invited to speak May 10 at the Clinical Academic Seminar at the Centre for Infection Prevention and Management, Infectious Diseases and Immunity, Imperial College London, Hammersmith Hospital. His seminar was on zoonotic infections. Dr. Shapiro is nearing the completion of a single-author textbook on this topic as well, which will be published by Wiley & Sons.

Ruben K. Dagda, Ph.D., assistant professor at the department of pharmacology, was invited to present his aging-related research at the Tenth Annual Division of Aging Biology New Investigators Forum (DAB NIF) at the National Institute on Aging at the National Institutes of Health on June 29-30, 2016. The purpose of the forum is to bring together new NIH NIA grant awardees in the year following their award, to allow NIA program staff to get acquainted with researchers and to allow networking with other researchers.

Danielle Eaton, coordinator for the office of medical research, on May 19 gave a presentation titled "Clinical Trial Coordinator: Industry Funded Research" for VA Sierra Nevada Health Care System Research Week.

Faculty and Staff

Residents honored as teachers

The 2016 resident recipients of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards recognized Benjamin Hansen and Travis Walker, both with family and community medicine – Reno. In Las Vegas, Lannah Lua, obstetrics and gynecology; Lucy Won, psychiatry, Hasanali Z. Khashwjiand, surgery and Krystle Tuano, surgery also were recipients.

Dean's Dinner recognizes outstanding faculty members

dean's dinner 2016

Carl Sievert, Ph.D., was awarded the Outstanding Basic Science Faculty award, presented by Yvette Anderson.

One of the highlights of a graduation week full of memorable moments is the Dean's Dinner faculty awards which are determined and bestowed by each year's graduating class. This year's honorees included:

  • Perillustris Docere Award: Joshua A. Bardin, M.D.
  • Outstanding Full-Time Professor-Reno: Kirk Bronander, M.D.
  • Outstanding Full-Time Professor-Las Vegas: John Fildes, M.D.
  • Outstanding Basic Science Faculty: Carl Sievert, Ph.D.
  • Outstanding Clinical Department-Reno: Family and Community Medicine
  • Outstanding Clinical Department-Las Vegas: Department of Surgery
  • Outstanding Basic Science Department: Department of Physiology and Cell Biology
  • Outstanding Community Professor-Reno: Peter Althausen, M.D., Surgery
  • Outstanding Community Professor-Las Vegas: Mahfoud Beajow, M.D., Internal Medicine
  • Outstanding Resident-Reno: Stephanie Reinhardt, M.D.
  • Outstanding Resident-Las Vegas: David Kuykendall, M.D.

Physician assistant program hires new academic coordinator

Julie Thomas

Julie Thomas is the new academic coordinator for the School of Medicine's PA Program, now working toward its anticipated opening in summer, 2017.

The University of Nevada School of Medicine welcomes Julie Thomas M.S., PA-C, as the academic coordinator for its Physician Assistant Program.

Thomas comes to the school of medicine most recently from the Diane Thomas, M.D. Family Practice, where she worked as a PA for two years. She has been practicing in northern Nevada since 2004. Currently, Thomas serves as the northern Nevada representative for the Nevada Academy of Physician Assistants.

CMPP graduate student wins UNR Thesis Competition

Robert del CarloRobert del Carlo won top honors at the Nevada Three-Minute Thesis Competition.

Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology and Physiology graduate student Robert del Carlo won first prize in the doctoral student category of the Three-Minute Thesis at Nevada Competition held April 28 at the University of Nevada, Reno.

del Carlo was selected from among 60 Ph.D. students across all colleges at UNR. He presented his study of snakes which have become resistant to a powerful toxin and how that resistance comes at a cost. He studies biophysics and pharmacology in the context of this evolutionary project and hopes to apply these skills in the future to the neuroscience of traumatic brain injury and schizophrenia.

Students chosen to participate in AAMC's Hotspotting Learning Collaborative

An interprofessional team of students from both the School of Medicine and the University of Nevada, Reno was accepted to participate in the 2016 cohort of 10 medical schools in the Association of American Medical Colleges Hotspotting Learning Collaborative.

Participants in this six-month project learn from pioneers in hotspotting how to identify patients who are high utilizers of care with multiple complex health conditions. The program allows participants to better understand the root cause of their patients' health care issues and how socio-demographic factors may play a role.

Steven Bajo, M.D. and Tanya Phares, M.D., both from Renown, approached the School of Medicine's executive associate dean, Melissa Piasecki about entering a team and proposal for this national program. Gwen Shonkwiler, Ph.D., director of evaluation and assessment at the School of Medicine, recruited students and wrote the proposal.

Team members include School of Medicine fourth-year student Charlie Jose; MSW student, Amanda Hartman; licensed social worker, Amanda Petry; MPH student Robert Forest; and CHS students, Reema Naik and Courtney Tranberg.

Copyright © 2016 Health Sciences.